top of page
  • Writer's picturethebisctribune

On A Cold Rainy Night in Stoke

-Rageeb Juhair Nur

 

Football. That's all we have to say. It's eye-catching to fans all over the world. It does not need much explanation. People share memories, experiences, opinions on football all the time, because it has integrated to a form of lifestyle for fans, old and new. Today we bring to you, the story of BISC's own Kevin De Bruyne, who has been consistent, hardworking and undoubtedly skilled on and off the field. Without further ado, Azwad Ahmed Pasha, former captain of BISC's football team.


Q. Azwad, being a long time player for the school's football team, please tell us about your experience as a player to a captain.


A: It was an amazing experience honestly, to be able to play for the football team since I was in grade 6. I started out as a striker when I was playing tournaments with my seniors. I moved onto playing in the midfield to play a more important role in the field. My seniors graduated and me being the youngest player who used to play with them got the captaincy. It was a little nerve wracking at first but I got used to it and it was amazing really. Being able to dictate the game, to control the flow of the game


Q. You have been a key player for the team and what we would like to know is, what goes on in that mind of yours before any crucial match?


A: Before any crucial match, the one thing that's on my mind is that we have to win. I know what my teammates are capable of, I know they're willing to go to any lengths to get that win. So the mindset is to push to that last limit, to get that winning goal.


Q. You told us about your thoughts before you step foot onto the pitch, but what do you focus on during a game?


A: During a game the main focus is to not lose our calm. Even if we concede one, we'll score two more. Losing our calm would only result in our loss and we definitely don't like losing. My focus is centering the team's gameplay around me. Each and every one of my teammates is capable of changing the pace of the match, I keep that faith in them and play my best game.



Q. As a player of your calibre, what keeps you going to play this sport, the motivation behind everything you can do when you play the game?


A: I grew up playing football. Every chance I got, I had a ball at my feet. To me, football has always been more than just a game. My main motivation is to make the people who believe in me proud. To make something out of it. Everyone has a happy place and that's what football has been to me since day one. When I'm playing football, it's the only thing I'm focused on and it's the only thing that matters. It's not something I can exactly describe in words but the drive that keeps me going is to show everyone and someday InShaAllah the whole world what I'm capable of while playing the beautiful sport


Q. What piece of advice do you have for every other aspiring player of the BISC football team?


A: If you get a chance to play for the BISC football team, you already have something special in you. The BISC legacy is a hard one to carry, our footballing team has seen some of the best of the best. I learned so much in my time playing for the team. Anyone who played for the BISC team would give anything to play for it again. Keep grinding, keep practicing and bring home those trophies.


And with that, we wrap up Azwad's exhilarating experience in the realm of football, and yes he can do it on a cold rainy night in Stoke.



86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page